Cocke County DCS “Bad to the Bone”

Have you ever called a government agency for help only to be chuckled at and made fun of? Then chances are you have never had to contact the Cocke County Department of Children Services (DCS) located on Heritage Street in Newport, Tennessee.

Such was the case on Monday, July 6, when Renée Lynn, Editor-in-Chief of “The Knoxville Journal,” needed to discuss a dire situation with Kim Ramsey, a case worker at the Cocke County DCS. Mrs. Lynn tried numerous times to reach Ms. Ramsey or anyone in the department to no avail.

Finally, Mrs. Lynn got in touch with Ms. Ramsey to converse about a very serious issue concerning information relevant to two foster children under their jurisdiction. Apparently the information was ignored.

When asked very pertinent questions about the care of these children, Ms. Ramsey began laughing over the phone along with other employees. They just kept on laughing. Ms. Ramsey made no effort to correct her rude behavior with an apology. Mrs. Lynn then informed Ms. Ramsey that this was not a laughing matter, but was a grave set of circumstances. Again Mrs. Lynn was met with snickering.

It just so happened that Mrs. Lynn’s telephone was on speaker phone and at least one other person witnessed the outrageous behavior of Ms. Ramsey.

Mrs. Lynn commented, “It is a sad day when upstanding citizens are being subjected to such disrespect from government employees.”

This is not the first complaint lodged against the Cocke County DCS. This reporter knows of at least one other incident in which the Cocke County office has overstepped their bounds.

Ms. Vicki Hodge, supervisor of the Cocke County DCS did return a call to Mrs. Lynn on Tuesday, July 7, but did not apologize for the offensive conduct of her employees.

If you have any information about the Cocke County DCS you would like to share, please call Myra Wheeler at The Knoxville Journal at (865) 546-5353.

http://www.theknoxvillejournal.com/inside/pages/news/Cocke-County-DCS.html

I am sure they would be interested in all the stories in TN, give it a shot.

10 thoughts on “Cocke County DCS “Bad to the Bone”

  1. COCKE DCS IS GREAT! says:

    Honestly, DCS in Cocke County is great. They, as all government employees, are overworked and overwhelmed. I personally know Kim and she is one of the nicest, helpful people that works there. They work long hours, (for little pay),they get to go to the office at 2:00 in the morning to try and place a child that has been removed from their home. Also, for this long hour, low paying job, they get to see and experience some of the worst things imaginable. As said before, Ms. Ramsey is one of the “good” ones in the “System”, so I am sure we are not getting the entire story here, are we??

    Like

  2. Cappii says:

    I also have to raise an eyebrow at this statement. My children were taken from me by their mother, who had made false allegations concerning abuse. She lied to the hospital, and to the police on Sunday night, and the police would not let me take my kids back home. I stayed in Newport that night, and first thing in the morning, contacted DCS. The case worker interviewed me, my new wife, as well as my ex wife, and the children. It took her all of 30 minutes to discern the truth, and return my kids to me. I can not believe that the behavior that you experienced came from the same group of individuals who were so quick to respond to my case, and were very much on top of things. They’d have to be in a place like Newport.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    ABOUT DCS IN COCKE COUNTY, THEY HAVE DOUBLE STANDARDS FOR EVERYONE. I MOTHER GETS TO KEEP HER KIDS BECAUSE SHE ONLY SMOKES DOPE, OR WAS IT BECAUSE SHE KNEW HER WORKER. ANOTHER MOTHER TRIED TO GET THE SAME WORKER SHEDEENA DOCKERY TO CALL HER. SHE WOULD NEVER WOULD RETURN HER CALL. SO,THE MOTHER WENT TO DCS AND TRIED TO TALK TO DOCKERY, SHE TOLD THE MOTHER SHE WOULDNT HER. SHE WAS HER SON WORKER ANND SHE DIDNT NEED HER KID BECAUSE SHE WAS A JUNKY. EVERYONE MAKES MISTAKES. YOU ASK THE RIGHT PEOPLE IN IN THIS TOWN YOU GET THE SCOOP ON THESE CRUEL AND RUTHLESS PEOPLE. MY STORY WILL GET TOLD WHEN I GET MY DAUGHTER BACK CAUSE IF I CAN GET A GOOD LAWYER THAT THINKS WE CAN BEAT THEM IN COURT FOR DISCRIMNATION AGAINST THE DISABLED I GONNA TAKE IT TO COURT THEY ARE USING OUR CHILDREN TO GET THEIR QUOTAS SO THEY CAN KEEP THEIR JOOBS AND IT MAKES ME SICK. THEY MANIPULATE PARENTS AND THEN THE DONT TRY TO HELP THEM GET THEIR CHILDREN BACK I KNOW. I WILL TELL PEOPLE ABOUT THIA WEBSITE BECAUSE I AGREE WHOLE HEARTEDLY THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN,AND IF NOT THE WHOLE SYSTEM NEEDS A OVERHAUL GET RID OF THE ONES THAT DONT WONT TO HELP THE PARENTS. AND AS FAR AS THE COMMMENTED POSTED ABOVE, SHE WAS PROBABLY ONE OF THOSE WHO GOT TO KEEP HER KIDS.

    Like

  4. WHAT A LIE says:

    EVER WHO POSTED THIS LETTER, IS EITHER A DCS WORKER OR CRAZY ONE. THESE PEOPLE DONT DESERVE JOBS. THEY HAVE DOUBLE STANDARDS FOR EVERYONE. THEY DONT TELL YOU IF THERE IS SOMEONE GOING TO TAKE CARE OF YOUR CHILD FOR A FEW WEEKS OR MONTHS YOU DONT HAVE TO SIGN ALL THOSE PLANS THEY MAKE FOR YOU TO KEEP YOUR CHILD AWAY FROM YOU FOR 6 MONTHS TO A YEAR THEY JUST GANG UP ON YOU AND TELL YOU IF YOU DONT SIGN YOUR CHILD IS GOING TO THE STATE. ZBOUT THE DOUBLE STANDARDS THEY HAVE UP HERE SOME MOTHERS GET TO KEEP THEIR KIDS IF THEY TAKE DRUGS. IF THEY KNOW THEIR WORKER. MINE WAS PRESCRIBED AND THEY TOOK MINE AWAY. I COMMEND THE MOTHER THAT WROTE THIS ARTICLE AND I RIGHT UP THERE WITH YOU SOMEONE NEEDS TO PUT THESE RUTHLESS PEOPLE IN THEIR PLACE.

    Like

  5. Chris says:

    One of the DCS workers Is a woman and a known sex addict. The caliber of people in this office is horrifying. I know that this sex addict is close friends of an assistant district attorney in Cocke County. Their have been accounts of this woman who is married going to sex parties in Knoxville. I have personally contacted Viola Miller in Nashville trying to get change in this office. A Cocke County Resident does not have a chance in court against CPS since they have a crooked judge in their back pocket. Lets never forget the boy who was murdered in CPS custody in Cocke county. The Shelton boy who was taken away from a loving and struggeling parent for truency. CPS wiped their hands clean and so did the fat bastard judge we have. As far as I am concerned they all have blood on their hands.

    Like

  6. dave says:

    I to know what it is like to loose a child to cocke county dcs
    my daughter was a victim of child molestation. my daughters mother boyfriend was accused of molesting my daughter and hung himself to his death the next day the mother failed a drug test and my child was taken away without being contacted or a 3 day hearing which was my right by law. i was told by my sister. i then contacted dcs and went to pickup my daughter they gave me a drug screen which i passed i had nothing to do with the incident that took my daughter away. i was told that since i have a previous charge from 2001 that i couldnt get my child. i found a family friend to take care of her she was content seeing her shrink and her grades are the best they have ever been. she is the victim here and she dosent deserve to be dragged around from place to place take my advice dont listen to anything dcs tells you without speaking to an attorney they make there money $$$ by keeping kids in the system as lon g as possible i want to think that this isnt true but i have yet to see it! i find that who you know is how you get your children back the judge i went in front of completly went against state law. the law is clear by saying that a family judge cannot order placement of a child but only recommend!! and in my case he did it was unfair they didnt ket me say anything in my defense! i just hope and pray that this does not happen to anybody ever FAIR is not a word that judges know in COCKE COUNTY! pray that you dont ever have to see one judge in particular that has been in trouble more than most people that go in front of him and is currently under investigation Now, and still a judge! please if anyone can help me feel free to email me @ dpymntsolutions@gmail.com thank you and may God be with you!

    Like

  7. stephanie says:

    brandy took mine and laughed with all her coworkers while finding foster parents for my newborn and 2 yr old. it was very traumatizing. i couldnt do anything but cry. the whole next three months was pure hell. limited visitation once a week.very mean workers. thank god the foster parents were very nice.dont test positive for cannibis i learned the hard way!

    Like

  8. unknown says:

    I wanted to share my story but it would be long and sad.my ex-husband had 2 children with his second wife plus she had 3 as well from her 1st marriage total of 5 .she moved to cocke county about 4 yrs.ago. He was planning to join them after his job transferred him there ( 2 weeks ) later.she moved in with her sister in newport until her sister went and rented her and her children a place short time later,the place she rented for her sister was unfit .but she put them in that place only to call dcs the next day and report her living in a unfit home,(she was friends with a dcs worker)imagine that,dcs took all 5 kids away and split them up,they placed the 3 oldest ones together and adopted them out immediately,my ex-husband’s 2 were put together(ages 16 mths,4yrs) in a home in loudon foster mom is leah scarborough not to mention i done my homework on her check her criminal record out in ashville n.c. arson,armed robbery,few felonies,yes no joke !see for yourself! dcs never took them away from my ex.cause he has never stepped foot on the property or new the conditions that place was in.there was several of us tried to open our homes to take these children I myself was close to these children and tried to get them but to no avail,would they let go of them.my ex fought for them for 4 yrs,until he died after a long battle of cancer on july 27th 2012,he suffered badly up to his last breath and those final words he said was :get michael and mackenzie:he played their games and was promised to get to see them,he took it all the way to appeals court in knox and won custody but dcs still refused to follow courts order to return them,he then took it to federal courts,then he died still fighting and now we have hired a attorney kevin sheppard in maryville hes good, and took over and we will fight until we get justice served not to mention judge bell was a crooked judge that was on the case and he was dismissed off of it,now strands on it and hes just as bad,by the way the 2 children are still in the home of the felonist,what happened to dcs helping the families?cocke county is very crooked!and dcs wants what best for children?theres no sugar coating this story it is what it is.

    Like

  9. the cocke co.dcs has torminited our family sence my kids have been able go walk.just because we made family members mad.now they r teenagers and we are being torminited and lied to and me the mother angie.is being slandered severial times.call me and ill tell you all about dcs,s amy bll and rikki small and another one from k-vill office from the foster home dept.my number is 423-248-4027 one mor important thing my husband just got out of the hospital for his heart and depression because of them and because of the way they approched us and wanted to question our 14 year old alone without her lawyer present.

    Like

Leave a Reply

